Frozen Yogurt for my Fellow Man

On Monday a homeless guy walked into the frozen yogurt shop where I was, he was holding his stuff, blankets, bags, etc. The guy behind the counter, who had been greeting everybody who walked in didn’t say anything to him. The man waited in line but the guy behind the counter still didn’t didn’t say anything to him or acknowledge his presence.

I assume he felt discouraged and he started to walk out. I said to him, “aren’t you going to get some frozen yogurt?” and he shrugged at me, I asked if he would like some frozen yogurt and he said “yes.” I gave him five dollars and I told him that I would like pay for his frozen yogurt. He thanked me, got a frozen yogurt cup and filled it up with frozen yogurt and lots of toppings. When he got to the counter it was $6.72.

I went to the counter and paid the clerk, I told the man to keep the five dollars I had given him and I would like to pay for his frozen yogurt, and I wished him happy holidays. He said, “thank you, you’re very generous.” He smiled at me and picked up his frozen yogurt and his belongings and sat down in a chair by the window.

Unfortunately I had an appointment and I had to leave (I would have liked to have sat down and chatted with this man for a bit) but as a drove away, I saw him sitting there comfortably eating his frozen yogurt and I was just glad to know that he got what he came for, and didn’t feel un-welcomed there. Frozen yogurt for your fellow man… I recommend it.

20131221-215158.jpg

Leave a comment